Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)

Lead by: Imran Khan Niazi

3 Users say
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is a political party in Pakistan founded in 1996 by former national cricket captain Imran Khan. PTI is the most rapidly growing political party of Pakistan, and has created a tri-party system, in which it opposes both the leftist People's Party and the conservative PML-N.

It is a Third Way, Centrist party which aims to create a welfare state, where the state is responsible for education, health and employability of citizens. It promotes freedom of thought, abolition of personal income tax and dismantling religious discrimination in Pakistan.

Directly following its founding in 1996, the party had little initial success. Khan won a seat in the Pakistani general election, 2002. The party boycotted the 2008 election, but in 2013 it received over 7.5 million votes, making it second in the number of votes and third in the number of seats won. Although it sits in opposition to the government at national level, the party governs Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province, a reflection of its consolidated support among ethnic Pashtuns.

The party terms itself an 'anti-status quo movement' advocating egalitarian Islamic democracy. It claims to be the only non-family party of mainstream Pakistani politics. With over 10 million members in Pakistan and abroad, it claims to be Pakistan's largest party by membership. According to the 2013 election results, PTI was the third largest party in National Assembly, and emerged as the governing party of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.
Please login to post a comment   Login
Popular Members
Name Position Rating
Abdul Aleem Khan President Central Punjab 1.00 (1)
Abdul Haq Khan 0.00 (0)
Abrar Ul Haq 4.67 (3)
Adbul Rashid Godil 0.00 (0)
Amir Liaquat Hussain 2.75 (4)
Asad Umar 4.60 (5)
Dr. Arif Alvi 4.50 (2)
Dr. Babar Awan 2.00 (2)
Dr. Yasmin Rashid 0.00 (0)
Imran Ismail 0.00 (0)
Imran Khan Niazi Chairman 3.75 (8)
Ishaq Khan Khakwani President South Punjab 0.00 (0)
Jahangir Khan Tareen Member Core Committee 0.00 (0)
Khurshid Mahmood Kasuri 0.00 (0)
Makhdoom Shah Mahmood Qureshi Vice Chairman 4.50 (2)
Muhammad Azam Khan Swati 0.00 (0)
Muhammad Usman Dar 0.00 (0)
Murad Saeed 0.00 (0)
Pervaiz Khattak 0.00 (0)
Raja Riaz Ahmad 0.00 (0)
Shafqat Mehmood 0.00 (0)